MOCIL honors Missouri leaders with Legislator of the Year Awards

Serving Benton, Henry, Johnson, Lafayette, Pettis and Saline County, Missouri.

MOCIL honors Missouri leaders with Legislator of the Year Awards

Jeff City, Mo. – Missouri Centers for Independent Living (MOCIL) honors Sen. Lincoln Hough (R-MO), Rep. Deb Lavender (D-MO), Sen. Jeanie Riddle (R-MO) and Rep. David Wood (R-MO) with Legislator of the Year Awards at their annual meeting Sept 16 – 17 in Columbia.

Centers for Independent Living provide effective programs and services to Missouri residents with disabilities so that they achieve or maintain independent living in the home and community of their choice. MOCIL, like all of the Centers for Independent Living, are 501c3 non-profit organizations.

MOCIL President Patrick Chambers, who is the Executive Director at Heartland Independent Living Center in Owensville, says, “MOCIL is extremely appreciative of the support and cooperation Centers for Independent Living receive from lawmakers in both the House and Senate each session. The MOCIL Advocacy Committee has selected this year’s recipients because of their strong support of legislation that positively impacts the programs and services Centers for Independent Living are able to provide to persons with disabilities who call Missouri home.”

Chuck Graham, Associate Director of the Great Plains ADA Center in Columbia, will be the Keynote Speaker at the association’s annual banquet on Monday evening. Graham will present information on disaster preparedness and response for persons with disabilities. Graham has served in both the Missouri House of Representatives and in the Missouri Senate. The Columbia, Missouri native continues to be a strong advocate for persons with disabilities on the local, state and federal level.